The only part of the Castle which has come down to us today is the Homage Tower; it is the only detail of what, in the XV century, was a regal fortress, unique in Spain and formed by eight grouped turrets. It is believed to have been built between 1195 and 1203, for the purpose of strengthening the defence against the Arabs. It was headquarters for the Special Tribunal of the Military Orders; the famous Empecinado was imprisoned there and one of General Prim’s unsuccessful uprisings took place there. The ensemble of St. Andrew’s Church, the Tercia House and Castle, has been declared Cultural Interest Heritage. The Homage Tower houses a Centre for Tourist Interpretation soon to be opened to the public, which will show the history and patrimony of Villarejo.